Shelves: read-and-reviewed I think this book is great. It tells the story of Trader He captures Trader and his convoy during a trade that was set up as a trap. He wants to use Traders war wag convoy to raid a place known as Spearpoint Inevitably his plan is thwarted by both Doc Tanner whom he had captive to control Cerebrus, the volatile guarding mist that the Palmers see as a god at Spearpoint and Ryan Cawdor with his releasing of Trader. Ryan, Poet and Hunaker had set C-4 charges in the refinery while they were on a mission to find trader inside the Virtue Lake ville

Author:Molabar Faurr
Language:English (Spanish)
Published (Last):27 June 2006
PDF File Size:19.79 Mb
ePub File Size:12.96 Mb
Price:Free* [*Free Regsitration Required]

Chronological Order of Deathlands Books Chronologically, Encounter comes before Pilgrimage to Hell and should be read first if reading in chronological order. Lowder became sick after writing a lot of the book and developing the plot, Axler finished the story up. After that, James wrote the books by himself until his health started failing and he had to leave the series in the year Some of the books can be read as stand alone works, but others are dependent on previous books.

There are some trilogies within the series. The day of a president being inaugurated in the year , a one-megaton blast tore through the Soviet embassy, which is located in Washington, D. More explosions followed, all over the world that would change the course of Earth forever. From the ruins come the Deathlands, which is a world that conspires to keep humans from their survival.

In the destroyed heart of what is now the new America, a team of women and men seek to get away from the scary wastes and mutate forms of life that is their nuclear hell. There are three warriors that go off to the rumored safe haven that is supposed to be in the mountains.

The warriors are Ryan Cawdor the intelligent one , J. Dix the armorer of the group , and Krysty Wroth who is a beauty and an enigma.

The goal of their journey is to find out secrets about the prewar experiments that might have the answer of survival in this new world called the Deathlands. Fans of the novel found this exceeded their expectations quite a bit.

It was a well crafted, and tightly plotted action adventure; the setting of this was full realized. These are a group of believable characters that keep things going. Some felt like they had to read the next bunch, after this one ended on a cliffhanger.

Survival in a world filled with radioactive red dust from a nuclear war leaves people looking for stores of weapons, food, and technology the preholocaust people left in redoubts, which are lonely outposts. Ryan Cawdor finds a redoubt in what used to be Alaska, he finds a threat to the new America. Some of the survivors have gone across the the Bering Strait to get all that they can from Alaska as they start to plan their attack on America.

The war for domination has concluded, but the fight to survive has just started. Some are hooked on this series already, after just two of the books, and wish that they had gotten into these books much sooner. Fans of the novel found this to be a great way to spend some time before it is time to go to bed. This is quite the series to follow, as it makes you fly through one, and pick up the next one just as quickly.

Louisiana has become a fetid and sullen place that has a lot of swamps that have become impenetrable and horribly mutated wildlife. Above all of these gnarled bayous, radioactive red dust that fly across the sky during nuclear winds. Biting acid rain falls on whomever is left, which comes from boiling winds out from the Gulf.

The now reeking swampland that used to be Mississippi basin, bombs have made barren cities for the tiny groups of strongly opposed survivors. Ryan and his companions find a group that try to return the world to the way it was before the bombs.

They face off against a feudal lord that would rather wipe them all out. The lead in this adds a depth of vileness and darkness that has not yet been seen in this series, up to this point. Fans of the novel found this to be right up at the top of the best books from this series that they have read. These are great pulp adventures that some cannot stay away from for very long.

Near what used to be the Pacific Northwest, Ryan and his band of survivors find a gorgeous valley that seems to be untouched by any of the blasts. They have to resist temptation to settle in the picturesque land, the group is captured and taken into an extinct volcano.

Here, there is an isolated community of some in-bred scientists that are working blindly to figure out some better ways to commit genocide. They do not yet know that the world they want to slaughter is dead already.

Some felt this was their favorite book out of the entire series. Fans feel that when they pick up one of these books, they have a hard time putting it back down again for very long. Once they have finished, they have to pick up the next one and read it quickly. This served as a fun read that had the usual things that some enjoy when they read these books. It is great to join these heroes on their journey, while they find all kinds of interesting things.

We recently conducted a poll among visitors and the Memory Man series was voted the 8th most favourite series by all readers. If you ARE an avid reader of it then great news — a new book is coming out very soon!!! Pre-order now. Please Note The links beside each book title will take you to Amazon, who I feel are the best online retailer for books where you can read more about the book, or purchase it. Please note that as an Amazon Associate, I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Recommendations Every 2 weeks we send out an e-mail with Book Recommendations. Insert your e-mail below to start getting these recommendations. If you see one missing just send me an e-mail below. Then you need to read the Coffeehouse Mysteries. This series by Cleo Coyle has been going strong since and is still publishing highly rated books every year. An excellent series to get you through the cold months. More details. However there is a lot more to Blake than just that series.

He has written some of the best sci-fi books there is such as Dark Matter and Recursion. More Details.



Plot[ edit ] On the morning of January 20, the climax of the Cold War set the post-apocalyptic stage for the series. The end game began with a pre-emptive strike on Washington. Underground nuclear bombs were detonated from within the basement of the Soviet embassy, by an elite group of Spetsnaz operatives, destroying the central command structure and political system of the United States. For an indefinite period of time a nuclear exchange between the United States and the Soviet Union devastated both countries and subsequently the entire planet but little details are known outside both countries. All manner of genetic contagions were released infecting the survivors of the firestorm with horrible illnesses.


Surrounded in myth and rumour, Trader sets into motion the beginnings of legend at a place called Virtue Lake Levi Shabazz intends to carve his own empire out of the vast wastelands, but the Trader intends to thwart him and end him bloody siege of power. It all comes to a head at Virtue Lake - a heard lesson for Trader and a grim rite of passage for Ryan Cawdor. Plot Edit The book begins with a group of random travelers, thrown together by chance, making camp for the night.



Related Articles